grass-notes-cover:Layout 1.qxd
No of Pages: 74
RRP: 24.95
ISBN Print: 978-1-921556-08-1

Grass Notes

“A scrupulous eye and a true ear; Grass Notes contains some of the finest examples of Australian poetry I have read.” – Alex Miller

“Demands to be regarded as one of the most considerable of modern Australian poets.” – The Sydney Morning Herald

The poems in Grass Notes are linked by cadence and musicality. Time and transience form the sub-stratum of much of this collection which moves from the intimacy of the close-up, to wide angle views of humanity – “orbiting a mundane star on the outer margins / of the Milky Way” (Observatory).


About the Author

Sarah Day

Sarah Day was born in England and grew up in Tasmania. She has published six collections of poems, her most recent being Grass Notes  (Brandl & Schlesinger 2009). Her previous  collection of poems, The Ship  (Brandl & Schlesinger 2004), won the Judith Wright Calanthe Queensland Premier’s Award and the Judith Wright ACT Award for poetry 2005 and the University of Melbourne Wesley Michelle Wright Prize 2004. In 2002 her New and Selected Poems was published in the UK. It was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Awards. Before that, Quickening was published in 1997. Her other books include A Hunger to be Less Serious which won the Anne Elder Award for a first volume of poetry in 1987 and A Madder Dance which was shortlisted for the NBC Banjo Awards.  Sarah Day has received grants from the Literature Fund of the Australia Council and Arts Tasmania and was resident at the BR Whiting Library in Rome. She was invited to the Festival de Poesie in Paris in 2001 and in 2006 and has been a guest at Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Byron Bay and Hobart writers festivals and at King’s Lynn in England. Her poems have been put to music by British composer Anthony Gilbert. She was poetry editor of Island Magazine for seven years. She lives in Hobart. She has taught English and Creative Writing for a number of years at university and pre-tertiary level. She has been a member of the Literature Fund of the Australia Council.

Read More